Smashbox Liquid Halo Foundation Review / First Impression!

Hi everyone!

I got a free sample of the Smashbox Liquid Halo HD Foundation recently, and decided I would do a review/first impression of this product! I have heard very mixed reviews on this foundation, and personally, had never tried a Smashbox foundation, and so, didn’t really know what to expect!

smashbox-liquid-halo-hd-foundation-spf-15

You can buy this foundation for £27.50 from Boots for a 30 ml bottle, so, it’s fairly reasonable for a higher end foundation. It comes in 10 shades which is great, and I am going to be using shade Light 2. It states on the packaging that it is oil free and contains a SPF of 15, which is always a bonus!

Before using this product, I did my normal skincare routine, then followed by a primer. For this review, I used the L’Oreal Lumi Magique Pure Light Primer, which i’m a bit obsessed with right now!

I then started to apply the foundation to my face, using the Real Techniques buffing brush. The first thought I had was that I wasn’t keen on the smell (I’m aware this doesn’t affect the product, but, just wasn’t pleasant when applying it!). I also noticed that I didn’t need to use a lot of product, which is a great bonus, as it spread very well and buffed into my skin brilliantly. One thing I would say, is don’t put dabs of the product onto different parts of your face before you buff, as it seems to set fairly quickly. I applied it by dabbing my brush into the sample pot and buffing each section of my face at a time, to allow for this.

IMG_0469

It set fairly matte, which I’m not normally that keen on, however, this foundation still looked fairly natural on the skin. It does feel a bit heavy on your skin, even though I didn’t use much product at all. I would say the coverage is medium, as it has covered my spot scars better then other light to medium coverage foundations that I own.

IMG_0477

At first I really wasn’t sure on this foundation, and was struggling to give it a mark out of 10. I like it because it looks great in pictures, it’s oil free, gives enough coverage for me to not use a CC cream too, and makes my skin look radiant. However, it feels quite heavy on my skin, and the finish is slightly too matte for me (personally, I prefer a more dewey finish). I will still give it a 7 out of 10 though, and I think I probably will repurchase, as it definitely has more positives then negatives!

Have you tried this foundation? What did you think?

Thanks for reading!

 

Little Miss Makeup x

 

 

Leave a Reply

